Three Spartans Receive First Team All-ECFC Honors

Three Spartans Receive First Team All-ECFC Honors

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – Three members of the Castleton University football team have been voted First Team All-ECFC by the coaches from the eight schools comprising the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference, announced Thursday by the league office. In addition, one other Spartan earned Second Team All-ECFC recognition.

First Team All-ECFC honoree Eric Decker, a senior offensive lineman, becomes the second Castleton player ever to earn either First Team or Second Team All-ECFC honors in four straight seasons, joining two-time ECFC Offensive Player of the Year Shane Brozowski, a four-time First Team honoree from 2009 to 2012. One of this year's team captains, Decker anchored the Spartan offensive line, helping the team accumulate 306.4 total yards per game in conference play as Castleton posted a 5-2 ECFC mark for the third time in four years.

Junior running back Moe Harris receives First Team All-ECFC honors for the second time in three seasons after breaking his own school single season records for most carries (269), most rushing yards (1,180), and most rushing touchdowns (16). In addition, he tied Tyler Carpenter for most career rushing yards with 2,781 thanks to six games with over 120 rushing yards. At Anna Maria, he carried the ball 39 times for 209 yards and three touchdowns, plus he reached the 200-yard mark against Dean after rushing for 133 yards in the fourth quarter alone.

Castleton's third First Team All-ECFC honoree is senior linebacker Jakob Trautwein, the ECFC leader in tackles per game for the second consecutive season. Trautwein finished the season with 113 tackles, currently 17th in Division III with 11.3 tackles per game and the fifth-highest single season total in program history. He also tied the Castleton single season record of 13.5 tackles for a loss, setting the Spartan career record in that category with 28 tackles for a loss. Trautwein became the third Castleton player to earn over 300 career tackles, finishing his time on campus with 307 total tackles.

For the second straight year, defensive lineman Matt Lawhorn received Second Team All-ECFC recognition as he continued to emerge as one of the leaders of the defensive unit. Although Lawhorn finished with just nine total tackles, he was credited with diverting the attention of the offensive team's blockers in order for his teammates to be successful. In Castleton's six victories, the opponents were held to 18.5 points per game, helping Lawhorn and his classmates post the best four-year record by a senior class in program history at 24-16 (.600).

Husson's John Smith was voted ECFC Offensive Player of the Year for the third straight season, while Ricco Aaron of Dean received the ECFC Defensive Player of the Year award. For the entire press release, click here.