2017-18 Men’s Basketball Schedule Set for Castleton Spartans

2017-18 Men’s Basketball Schedule Set for Castleton Spartans

2017-18 Castleton Men's Basketball Schedule

CASTLETON, Vt. – The Castleton University men's basketball team has announced its schedule for the 2017-18 season, featuring 11 home games at Glenbrook Gymnasium.

For the fifth straight year, the Spartans will face Skidmore in the season opener, hosting the Thoroughbreds, who reached the second round of the NCAA Tournament for the third straight season, on Wednesday, Nov. 15. Castleton will then participate in the Hampton Inn Tournament in Dartmouth, Mass., facing Curry College Friday, Nov. 17, and either host UMass-Dartmouth or Elms Saturday, Nov. 18.

Castleton travels to Plymouth State for the traditional Thanksgiving Week game Tuesday, Nov. 21. The Spartans then return to Glenbrook Gym to host Southern Vermont Saturday afternoon, Nov. 25, before opening North Atlantic Conference play at Johnson State Tuesday, Nov. 28. Castleton will then play three of its next four games at home, starting with a matinee against New England College Saturday, Dec. 2.

After a conference tilt at Colby-Sawyer Tuesday, Dec. 5, the Spartans host Maine Maritime Friday, Dec. 8, and defending NAC champion Husson Saturday, Dec. 9. Castleton closes out the 2017 portion of the schedule with a non-conference contest at Pine Manor Wednesday, Dec. 13.

In 2018, the Spartans return to the court for a conference game at Lyndon Saturday, Jan. 6. The final regular season non-conference game of the year sees Castleton travel to Nashua, N.H., to take on Rivier Tuesday, Jan. 9.

Castleton returns to conference action with a home game against Johnson State Saturday, Jan. 13, followed by a road game at New England College Tuesday, Jan. 16. The Spartans host Maine-Farmington Friday, Jan. 19, and Thomas Saturday, Jan. 20.

The first of two weekends in Maine sees Castleton face Husson Friday, Jan. 26, and Maine Maritime Saturday, Jan. 27. After a home game against Lyndon Tuesday, Jan. 30, the Spartans make the short trip south to face Green Mountain Saturday, Feb. 3.

Castleton hosts Colby-Sawyer Tuesday, Feb. 6, and then returns to Maine for games at Thomas Friday, Feb. 9, and at Maine-Farmington Saturday, Feb. 10. The Spartans close out the regular season at home against Green Mountain Saturday afternoon, Feb. 17.

The top six teams in the final NAC regular season standings will qualify for the conference tournament, with the top two seeds receiving byes into the semifinals. The other four teams will participate in the quarterfinals Tuesday, Feb. 20, with the top seed hosting the semifinals and finals Friday and Saturday, Feb. 23-24.

Castleton returns 10 student-athletes who contributed to the team's 16-9 overall record in 2016-17. The Spartans finished in a tie for second in the conference standings last season with an 11-7 league mark and reached the semifinals of the NAC Tournament. Head coach Paul Culpo enters his ninth season at the helm of the Spartan men's basketball program.