McDougall Named NAC Coach of the Year, Seven Spartans Selected for Awards

McDougall Named NAC Coach of the Year, Seven Spartans Selected for Awards

WATERVILLE, Maine – After leading Castleton University to a second-place finish in the North Atlantic Conference and a bye into the NAC Tournament semifinals, seven student-athletes from the men's lacrosse team have been selected for postseason honors and head coach Bo McDougall has been voted by his peers NAC Coach of the Year.

Three Castleton players earned First Team All-NAC recognition, led by senior face-off specialist Josh Gosselin, voted all-conference for the third consecutive year. Gosselin is 20th in the country in face-off winning percentage at .663 (214-for-323) as well as 25th in Division III in ground balls per game (7.69). In conference games, Gosselin won 114-of-138 face-offs (.826), including two perfect games: 11-of-11 against Maine Maritime March 31 and 23-of-23 against Thomas April 14.

Andrew McCarthy received First Team All-NAC honors as a freshman, as he helped the Spartan defense hold conference opponents to 4.29 goals per game. He started all 16 matches for Castleton, collecting 27 ground balls and causing 10 turnovers while committing just seven turnovers of his own as he helped his team to an 80.9 percent success rate on clear attempts in NAC contests.

Jason Sedell was voted First Team All-NAC in the midfield after tying for the team lead with 30 goals during the regular season, plus he dished out seven assists for a team-high 37 points. Sedell has five hat tricks so far this season, including four goals in conference matches against Green Mountain and Thomas as well as three goals in the regular season finale at New England College.

Completing his seventh season as head coach at Castleton, McDougall has been named NAC Coach of the Year for the third time, previously receiving the honor in 2012 and 2013. After a slow start, he has led the Spartans to nine victories over their last 12 games, including a 6-1 record within the conference. He currently boasts an overall coaching record of 81-48 (.628), including an astounding 50-4 (.926) mark within the NAC.

Three other Spartans were voted Second Team All-NAC, including senior defender Edward Doton, honored by the conference coaches for the second straight year. Doton started all 16 games for Castleton during the regular season, causing 22 turnovers and collecting 37 ground balls while committing just four turnovers.

Senior Kevin McCarthy also received Second Team All-NAC honors after scoring 30 goals during the 2018 regular season, highlighted by a five-goal performance against Johnson State April 18. Sam Siegel was voted Second Team All-NAC for the second straight season, scoring 15 goals and dishing out 11 assists in 14 starts for the Spartans, including a two-goal, three-assist effort against Green Mountain April 4.

Senior midfielder Ryan Stone was named to the NAC Men's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team, reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the lacrosse culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette.

Other than Coach of the Year, New England College swept the other major awards, earning Player of the Year (Matt Richard), Defensive Player of the Year (William Platt), Rookie of the Year (Charles Hacking), and Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year (Tom Zervos). To view the full release from the conference office, click here.

Castleton, 9-7 overall, will host Husson in one NAC Tournament semifinal Wednesday, May 2, starting at 4 p.m. at Spartan Stadium. New England College will host Lyndon in the other semifinal Wednesday at 6 p.m., with the winners meeting in the championship match Saturday, May 5, at the home of the highest seed remaining.