Men & Women Place Third In Combined Standings; Spartans Earn 17 USCSA All-America Honors

Men & Women Place Third In Combined Standings; Spartans Earn 17 USCSA All-America Honors



WILMINGTON, N.Y. – Completing a historically successful week at the 2018 United States Collegiate Ski and Snowboard Association's National Championships, the Castleton University men's and women's alpine ski teams have secured a multitude of significant honors.

During the post-championship award ceremony, the Spartans were recognized for their 17 USCSA All-America honors and seven USCSA Scholar All-Americans. Both teams also earned third-place finishes overall in the combined results, while Paul Rechberger was deemed combined national champion.

Following his individual victory in the slalom on Friday afternoon and paired with the giant slalom results, Rechberger became the overall USCSA National Champion. The Wilhering, Austria native led a group of three Spartans, including Oskar Eriksson (12th) and Cameron Heald (13th) to combined All-American status.

The trio of skiers also collected All-America honors in the slalom, while being joined by teammate Jan Klindic. Meanwhile, Rechberger became just the second three-time National Championship All-American in program history, including his giant slalom results.

Pacing a group of three top-10 finishers, Li Aunes (5th overall) used her fourth-place finish in the slalom to lead the women's team individually. Kylie Mackie and Linn Ljungemo were right behind her, going back-to-back in securing the eight and nine spots in the standings.

After becoming the first skier in program history to earn three All-America honors at a national championship in 2017, Ljungemo repeated the feat this year. Joining her in the annals of history, Mackie also picked up three honors, while Aunes recorded two (slalom and combined) and Kirsten Kruk had one (slalom).

Among the historic recognition, seven USCSA Scholar All-Americans were recognized as Anton Smith, Rechberger and Eriksson directed the men. On the women's side, Megan O'Shea, Nadine Downing, Ellie Frischmon and Ljungemo earned honors. These athletes continued to show their dedication in the classroom all while battling to get better on the mountain.


@CastletonSports | IG: castletonsports | FB: Castleton University Athletics