Men's Alpine Lands Four on All-MacConnell Division Team

Men's Alpine Lands Four on All-MacConnell Division Team

CASTLETON, Vt. – After claiming the regular-season Eastern Collegiate Ski Conference MacConnell Division title on Sunday, the Castleton University men's alpine ski team had four racers named to the All-MacConnell Division Team, highlighted by Rookie of the Year Logan Mackie.

Mackie, who finished sixth in the overall standings for the MacConnell Division, was the top rookie on the slopes after five top-five results on the campaign. Paul Rechberger placed second in the MacConnell Division standings to earn a spot on the All-Division Team, registering four wins with a total of six top-five finishes in Castleton's eight races.

Cameron Heald and Anton Smith also earned spots on the team, as Heald finished in the top-10 six times while Smith recorded four top-10 finishes on the year.

Castleton's coaches—Chris Eder, Dale Solotruck, Blair Hooper and Skip Fox—were also awarded the men's Coaching Staff of the Year after leading the Spartans to their first-ever men's MacConnell Division Title.

Babson's MacIntyre Henderson was named Skier of the Year, while the University of Connecticut earned the Team Sportsmanship Award. Castleton's Andrew Borden was also named to the MacConnell Division All-Sportsmanship Team.

The Spartans return to the slopes on February 23 at Sugarloaf for the USCSA Eastern Regional Championships.