Castleton Women’s Basketball Schedule Finalized for 2017-18

Castleton Women’s Basketball Schedule Finalized for 2017-18

2017-18 Castleton University Women's Basketball Schedule

CASTLETON, Vt. – The Castleton University women's basketball team has finalized its schedule for the 2017-18 season, featuring 12 home games at Glenbrook Gymnasium.

The Spartans open the season Wednesday, Nov. 15, against Elms College at Glenbrook Gym, followed by a trip to Northampton, Mass., for the Tyler Tip-Off Classic hosted by Smith College. Castleton will face Bates College Saturday, Nov. 18, and Southern Maine Sunday, Nov. 19.

Castleton travels to Plymouth State for the traditional Thanksgiving Week game Tuesday, Nov. 21, before opening North Atlantic Conference play at Johnson State Tuesday, Nov. 28. The Spartans will then play five of their next six games at home, starting with a matinee against New England College Saturday, Dec. 2.

After a conference tilt at Colby-Sawyer Tuesday, Dec. 5, the Spartans host Maine Maritime Friday, Dec. 8, and defending NAC champion Husson Saturday, Dec. 9. Castleton closes out the 2017 portion of the schedule with a non-conference contest against in-state rival Norwich at Glenbrook Gym Tuesday, Dec. 12.

The Spartans return to the court Tuesday, Jan. 2, to face Williams College before a conference game at Lyndon Saturday, Jan. 6. The final regular season non-conference game of the year sees Castleton travel to Middlebury to take on the Panthers Tuesday, Jan. 9.

Castleton returns to conference action with a home game against Johnson State Saturday, Jan. 13, followed by a road game at New England College Tuesday, Jan. 16. The Spartans host Maine-Farmington Friday, Jan. 19, and Thomas Saturday, Jan. 20

The first of two weekends in Maine sees Castleton face Husson Friday, Jan. 26, and Maine Maritime Saturday, Jan. 27. After a home game against Lyndon Tuesday, Jan. 30, the Spartans make the short trip south to face Green Mountain Saturday, Feb. 3.

Castleton hosts Colby-Sawyer Tuesday, Feb. 6, and then returns to Maine for games at Thomas Friday, Feb. 9, and at Maine-Farmington Saturday, Feb. 10. The Spartans close out the regular season at home against Green Mountain Saturday afternoon, Feb. 17.

The top six teams in the final NAC regular season standings will qualify for the conference tournament, with the top two seeds receiving byes into the semifinals. The other four teams will participate in the quarterfinals Tuesday, Feb. 20, with the top seed hosting the semifinals and finals Friday and Saturday, Feb. 23-24.

Castleton returns nine student-athletes who contributed to the team's 17-9 overall record in 2016-17. The Spartans finished second in the conference standings last season with a 15-3 mark and reached the semifinals of the NAC Tournament. Head coach Tim Barrett enters his 17th season at the helm of the Spartan women's basketball program.