Wrestling Hauls in Multitude of NEWA End-of-Year Honors

Wrestling Hauls in Multitude of NEWA End-of-Year Honors

WORCESTER, Mass. – Following the most successful season in the program's young history, the Castleton University wrestling team received a host of accolades from the New England Wrestling Association at the 2018-19 NEWA Season Awards were announced this week.

Castleton landed seven wrestlers on All-NEWA squads, highlighted by Max Tempel and Jesse Webb on the All-NEWA Second Team, while placing 15 wrestlers on the All-NEWA Academic Team.

Tempel and Webb represented the Spartans at the NCAA National Championships in early March, just the second and third members of the program to ever compete at the event. Tempel posted a 33-8 record on the season, winning seven times by pin and six times by major decision. He added 19 wins via decision while recording one technical fall. Webb worked his way to a 32-10 mark at the heavyweight class, going an impressive 13-0 in matches that ended with a fall, including one pin in just 15 seconds—tied for the Spartans' fastest pin of the year.

Nick Camacho, Michael Gonyea, Chance LaPier, Jason Hoffman and Mitchell LaFlam were named Honorable Mention All-NEWA, as Camacho posted an 18-10 mark with an eighth-place finish at the NCAA Regionals, while Gonyea, who also earned a spot on the NEWA All-Rookie Team, went 39-4 with a fifth-place finish at the regional championships. LaPier and Hoffman joined Gonyea on the All-Rookie Team, as LaPier went 29-17 with sixth-place finish at the NCAA Regionals and Hoffman went 15-9 in the second half of the season with an eighth-place result at the regional championships. Mitchell LaFlam rounded out the honorable mentions with a record of 27-17 after placing eighth at the NCAA Regionals.

Halim Bourjeili, Ryan Butcavage, Frank Darwak, Cooper Fleming, Gonyea, Ryan Haff, Jeb Hodsden, Ethan Ives, Owen Kretschmer, LaFlam, Hunter Martel, Cameron Milliken, Lucas Morse, Tempel and David Wingate were Castleton's 15 honorees for All-NEWA Academic Team, following the announcement of Gonyea, Kretschmer, LaFlam and Tempel as NWCA Scholar Athletes earlier this month.

The Spartans return a majority of their starting lineup next season, as the team graduates just two seniors in Webb and Milliken.